Indiana RadioWatch: April 3, 2017

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

A tip of the IRW cap to two IRW-land broadcasters on their re-elections to two-year terms on the NAB Radio and Television Board (in alphabetical order):

Ed Henson, president and owner of Henson Media.

Beth Neuhoff, president/CEO of Neuhoff Communications.


The FCC grants a CP to Adams Radio's Classic Rock/WXKE (96.3fm, Churubusco) to move tower sites to the northwest, from a shared tower site on Butler Road to the same tower as sister AC/WWFW (103.9fm, Fort Wayne) and other broadcasters. This tower site move will result in a power increase (6700 watts to 8400 watts) and an antenna height decrease (169 meters to 152 meters).


Gray Television's NBC affiliate WNDU-TV (Channel 16, South Bend) said goodbye last week to retiring News Director C.J. Beutien and also said goodbye to the late sportscaster Jeff Jeffers.

Another former WNDU-TV reporter and anchor passed away. Steen Miles was 70. Ms. Miles began her broadcasting and journalism career in 1971 as a reporter and anchor for WNDU-TV. Her broadcasting adventure took her to Cincinnati (WCKY), Chicago (WMAQ, WBNX, WVON/WGCI) and Atlanta, Georgia (WXIA-TV).


AllAccess reports that FCR Broadcasting, Inc. closes on their $38,000 sale of the CP for W240DL (95.9fm, Merrillville) to Taylor, Michigan-based Zamora Broadcasting Systems, Inc. Zamora will move the translator to rebroadcast a Michigan AM station.


Vincennes University Foundation's WFML (96.7fm, Vincennes) flips format to what it calls "smooth rock" as "96.7 The Bridge" under PD Dane Foley. WFML describes their format as "The singer-songwriters of the easy rock era" including such artists as: Fleetwood Mac, Billy Joel, Chicago, The Eagles, Sheena Easton, Carole King, Jackson Browne, Simon and Garfunkel, Olivia Newton-John, and Carly Simon. Their musical calendar will focus on the 1960s, 1970s and the early and mid-1980s.

John Collins is one of the three people accused of murdering popular Terre Haute DJ Matt Luecking. Mr. Collins now has a mid-September trial date. Also on June 29, Judge Michael Lewis will hear a change of venue request from Mr. Collins. Judge Lewis recently agreed to house Mr. Collins in the Vigo County Jail. The other two people accused in Luecking's murder have an April 24 (Donald Featherstone) and May 8 (Kathleen Featherstone) trial dates. Finally, Benjamin Selig faces an accusation of assisting Mr. Collins escape also has a May 8 trial date.

This Week in Indiana Radio History

Sign-on dates seem to be a prickly matter, subject to great debate, and mostly impossible to confirm. If there's something we need to add to the "calendar," please let us know. Please e-mail us if you have updated information.

April 2: In 1994, 93.5fm in Chandler signs on as WNTC. Today, it's WLFW.

April 3: In 1973, Channel 38 in Terre Haute signs on as WIIL-TV. Today, it's WAWV-TV.

April 4: In 1922, 920am in West Lafayette signs on as WBAA, and still is. WBAA is Indiana's oldest continually operated radio station. In 2005, WOWO(AM) adds HD Radio.

April 5: In 1948, 1580am in Connersville signs on as WCNB. Today, it's WLPK. In 1965, 98.5fm in Peru signs on as WARU-FM. Today, it's WMYK. In 2004, WNHT-FM flipped formats from CHR ("Hits 96.3") to Rhythmic CHR ("Wild 96.3").

April 6: In 2009, WFFT-TV (Channel 55, Fort Wayne) launches a 10PM newscast, anchored by Jim Blue.

April 7: In 1998, 104.3fm, Charlestown signed on as WBLO. Today, it's WAYI.

That's all for this issue. Thank you for your continued support.

Blaine Thompson
Indiana RadioWatch

Back to the Archive Index
All pages Copyright Blaine Thompson. Articles, photos, corrections, and other contributions should be e-mailed to the editors.