Indiana RadioWatch: April 29, 1998

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn


AC/WAJI (95.1fm, Fort Wayne) morning sidekick Mark Evans will depart this summer. A 12 year veteran of the station, Evans is off to local NBC affiliate WKJG-TV (Channel 33, Fort Wayne).

Bonnie Presser, morning co-host/news anchor at News-Talk/WOWO (1190am, Fort Wayne) departs.

Talk/WGL (WGL(AM) & FM [1250am, Fort Wayne; 94.1fm, Roanoke]; and WGLL [1570am, Auburn]) adds a new show, weekday afternoons from 3pm - 5pm. The locally produced show features Jennifer Tritsch (formerly of the "Jennifer & Nancy Show"), John Nimmo, a local attorney, and Dr. Jonathan Tankel, a college communications professor.


South Bend native Rick Hummer returns home, taking afternoons at CHR/WNDU (1490am, 92.9fm; both South Bend). Hummer arrives from sunny California where he did airshifts at KIBB in Los Angeles and KGGI in Riverside.


The FCC has approved the sale of Talk/WLTH (1370am, Gary) from WLTH Radio, Inc. to Marion Williams.

As we noted in our last issue, WAZY(AM) (1410am, Lafayette) flipped formats from Religious to News-Talk. What we didn't realize was this is a new set of calls for the station. It was previously WCFY.

Broadcasting for the Challenged and CSN International add applications for the new 89.1fm station in Lowell. The American Family Association was the first applicant.


Country/WFMS (95.5fm, Indianapolis) adds Bill Whyte to the morning show.

Charlie Morgan earns the title of VP/GM at Oldies/WGLD (104.5fm, Indianapolis).


Standards/WAXI (104.9fm, Rockville) is sold by Covered Bridge Broadcasting to Crossroads Communications, Inc. for $485,000.

Emmis gains FCC approval on their purchase of four stations: WTHI(AM)/FM & TV, and WWVR-FM; all from Wabash Valley Broadcasting. Total purchase price was $90 million.


(A special thanks to Brent Barber, station manager at WDSO in Chesterton for this story.)

Over the weekend of April 18, high school and vocational schools with radio & TV programs converged at Ball State University for the annual Indiana Association of School Broadcasters (IASB). The IASB is made up of over 40 participating schools. The winners include:

Radio Documentary/Feature
1st: "Marilyn Monroe" by Felicia Snyder; WKPW
2nd: "Crime Stoppers" by Nick Witter; WRFT
3rd: Food For Thought" by Monique Miller, Nicole Sell, and Brandy Strine; WVSH

Radio Drama
1st: "Who's on First" WVSH
2nd: "Boy Who Dared" WVSH
3rd: "The Shadow" WDSO

Radio Football Play by Play
1st: Will Haskett, Sudir Belegaje, and Matt Segal; WJEL
2nd: Kevin Rusk, and Derek Harding; WHJE
3rd: Joel Cotton, and Phil Bailey; WVSH

Radio Girl's Basketball Play by Play
1st: Brendan Perkins, and Amy Griffin; WVSH
2nd: Dan Threlkeld, and Phil Lovison; WHJE
3rd: Chris Csenar, and Brandon Bourne; WBDG

Radio Sportscasting
1st: Greg Doddridge; WRFT
2nd: Nick Jones; WVSH
3rd: Felicia Snyder; WKPW

Radio Boy's Basketball Play by Play
1st: Kevin Webb, and Bob Haag; WHJE
2nd: Adam Schenkel, and Nick Altman; WVSH
3rd: Greg Doddridge, and Ben Evilsizer; WRFT

Radio Spot Production
1st: Felicia Snyder; WKPW
2nd: "Concert/Truck Rally" by Jeb Campbell, Jason Kizer, and Jace Zahm; WVSH
3rd: "Retro 88" by Evan Kroft, and Tim Briner; WDSO

Radio Baseball/Softball Play by Play
1st: Matt Segal, and Benjy Ekhaus; WJEL
2nd: Terence Jent, and Adam Schenkel; WVSH

Radio Personality/Announcing Live
1st: Felicia Snyder; WKPW
2nd: Jessica Zapf; WKPW

Radio Interviewing Live
1st: Greg Doddridge; WRFT
2nd: Brenda Perkins; WVSH
3rd: Matt Segal; WJEL

Radio Newscasting Live
1st: Nikki Schultz; WRFT
2nd: Crystal Wilson; WJEL
3rd: Heather Williams; WVSH

Spot News Reporting Live
1st: Roop Bansi; WRFT
2nd: Rachel Hill; WRFT
3rd: Heather Williams; WVSH

That's it for this issue! See you in two weeks...

Blaine Thompson
Indiana RadioWatch

Back to the Archive Index
All pages Copyright Blaine Thompson. Articles, photos, corrections, and other contributions should be e-mailed to the editors.