Indiana RadioWatch: May 20, 2000

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn


TV News: GM Tim Gilbert departs Granite Broadcasting's WPTA (Channel 21, Fort Wayne [ABC affiliate])

The allocation on 106.7fm in Hicksville, Ohio is sold by GMA Broadcasting to Fallen Timbers Communications. We saw in Broadcasting and Cable magazine that Fallen Timbers is run by Alec C. Dille, who's the son of Pathfinder Communications' President John F. Dille III. GMA pockets $512,000 in the sale.

Shannon Norris, mid-days at Rock/WBYR (98.9fm, Van Wert, Ohio/Fort Wayne) earns MD stripes.


Roger Poulard, PD at News-Talk/WIMS (1420am, Michigan City) exits.

We're not sure about the latest plans for WZRK-CP (101.7fm, Kentland). We do see some action with the CP tho.


Chris Green, formerly at Hot AC/WLBC (104.1fm, Muncie), heads to sunny Florida. There, he'll be production director for all of the Asterisk Communications stations in the Gainesville market, as well as PD for Asterisk's Classic Rock/WRKG and Jazz/WXJZ.


New to mornings at Alternative/WRZX (103.3fm, Indianapolis) is Gonzo Greg. Greg arrives from Detroit where he did Afternoons at Alternative/WKRK.

Steve Wilmes, Production Director for Capstar's Indianapolis properties (WFBQ, WNDE, and WRZX) departs to form his own production company.

Where are they now? Former Country/WFMS (95.5fm, Indianapolis) morning host Bill Whyte is now doing mornings at Country/WSM-FM in Nashville, Tennessee.


The CP for Religious/WBGW (101.5fm, Fort Branch) is approved by the FCC. Look for them to boost power from 1000 watts to 2100 watts.

Indiana Community Radio Corp. files for a CP on 88.7fm in Morganfield, Kentucky (near Evansville).

Family Worship Center (Jimmy Swaggart) is granted a CP for a translator on 90.1fm in Crossville, Illinois (near Evansville) It'll be known as W211BJ.

That's it for this issue! See you in two weeks...

Blaine Thompson
Indiana RadioWatch

Back to the Archive Index
All pages Copyright Blaine Thompson. Articles, photos, corrections, and other contributions should be e-mailed to the editors.