Indiana RadioWatch: September 1, 2016

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

I couldn’t find a list of Dr. Joy Browne affiliates, but on Saturday, Dr. Browne suddenly died, at age 71. I'm not sure which Indiana News/Talk radio stations aired her syndicated talk show program.


What's new at Quincy Broadcasting's ABC affiliate WPTA-TV (Channel 21, Fort Wayne) and NBC affiliate WPTA-TV (Channel 21.2, Fort Wayne)? When "NBC Fort Wayne" revamps their local news operation this fall, the evening news teams will consist of Linda Jackson, Tom Powell, Chief Meteorologist Chris Daniels and Adam Schear. At present, Fort Wayne TV viewers see both Ms. Jackson and Mr. Daniels throughout the morning on Channel 21.1/"21 Alive Morning News." Ms. Jackson both produces and anchors "21 Alive at Noon."

Where Are They Now? Former Fort Wayne and Indianapolis DJ "Austin" returns to KHTT in Tulsa, Oklahoma for nights.


We have several Terre Haute TV news stories, all involving the same two stations: Nexstar NBC affiliate WTWO-TV (Channel 2, Terre Haute) and Mission Broadcasting ABC affiliate WAWV (Channel 38, Terre Haute).

Programming: WTWO-TV adds the "Laff" network to their Channel 2.2 and the "Escape" network on Channel 2.3. WAWV-TV adds the "Grit" network to their Channel 38.2 and the "Bounce" network on Channel 38.3.

HD: Both TV stations converted their respective Master Controls to HD on August 4. In order to convert local news to HD, they will use a temporary local news set, while building a new local news set.

Personnel: Mike Tank joins WTWO-TV as Late News Anchor and Senior Reporter. In the 1980s and 1990s, Mr. Tank worked at TV stations in Jacksonville, Florida (WJKS-TV), Cedar Rapids, Iowa (KGAN-TV), Wilmington, North Carolina (WECT-TV) and Green Bay, Wisconsin (WFRV-TV). Before joining WTWO-TV, Mr. Tank owned a production company.

That's all for this issue. Thank you for your continued support.

Blaine Thompson
Indiana RadioWatch

Back to the Archive Index
All pages Copyright Blaine Thompson. Articles, photos, corrections, and other contributions should be e-mailed to the editors.