Note: This webpage is not affiliated with the radio station itself. For more information on how to contact the radio station, read below. If you have questions, e-mail us.

This Page Last Updated: Friday 30 October 2020

The Essentials

Call Letters: WGRE
Frequency: 91.5fm
City of License: Greencastle
Metro(s): Greencastle
Power: 800 watts @ 177 feet (Class A)
Format: AAA
Address: 609 S. Locust Street, DePauw University, Greencastle, IN 46135-2047
Phone: 765.658.4475
Ownership: DePauw University
Web Presence:

Station Personnel


Faculty Advisor/GM: Jeff McCall
Chief Engineer: Greg Stephan
Operations Coordinator: Chris Newton
Station Manager: Megan Wagner
PD: Julia Dillon
MD: Susie Shmank
News Director: Tiernan Shank
Production Director: Sarah Proctor
Promotions Director: Hannah Gardner
Sports Director: Nate Baker
Student Run; Staff Changes Yearly


Station Manager: Dan Rinder
Station Manager: Ashlyn Archer
Station Manager: Caroline Torie
Station Manager: Ken Owen (1981 - 1982)
Station Manager: W. Michael Davidson (1980 - 1981)
Station Manager: John Kesler (1979 - 1980)
PD: Carolyn Holmes
PD: Christine Webster
PD: Ariella Ford
MD: Blake Royer
MD: Taylor Zartman
News Director: Nicole Pence
News Director: Katelyn Hendrickson
News Director: Kelsey Christensen
Production Director: Matthew Marjan
Production Director: Grant Walters
Promotions Director: Kyle Smitley
Promotions Director: Nicole Dobias
Sports Director: Brian Gustin
Sports Director: Garth McMains
Airstaff: Tobi Pagach

Station History

On April 25, 1949, the station signed on the air as the first 10-watt educational station licensed by the FCC. The station was created through the vision of DePauw professors Herold Ross and Elizabeth Turnell. Today, the station involves over 200 students each semester and broadcasts 24 hours a day while DePauw is in session. The station has been consistently ranked among the nation's top 10 college radio stations by The Princeton Review.

Back to the Stations Index
All pages Copyright Blaine Thompson. Articles, photos, corrections, and other contributions should be e-mailed to the editors.