Note: This webpage is not affiliated with the radio station itself. For more information on how to contact the radio station, read below. If you have questions, e-mail us.

This Page Last Updated: Sunday 29 April 2018

The Essentials

Call Letters: WKZS
Frequency: 103.1fm (CP: 103.3fm)
City of License: Covington (CP: Thomasboro, Illinois)
Metro(s): Danville, Illinois
Power: 3000 watts @ 299 feet (CP: 5200 watts @ 353 feet) (Class A)
Format: Country
Address: P.O. Box 227, Covington, IN 47932-0227
Address: 610 S. 3rd Street, Covington, IN 47932-1120
Address: 820 Railroad Street, Covington, IN 47932-1357
Phone: 765.793.4823
Ownership: Benton-Weatherford Broadcasting, Inc.
Web Presence:

Station Personnel


President: Larry Weatherford
GM: Rhea Benton-Weatherford
Promotions Director: Tara Duncan
Mornings: Larry Weatherford (6am - 9am)
Mornings: Greg Green (6am - 9am)
Weekends: Ron Colson
Airstaff: Tara Duncan



President: Don White
GM: Mike Mitzlaff II
Chief Engineer: Wayne Leuk
PD: Bud Sunkel
MD: Dave Miller
News Director: Dave Baird


GM: Rhea Ann Weatherford
Chief Engineer: George Dudich
Chief Engineer: Len Watson
SM: Greg Green
PD: Larry Weatherford
PD: G.E. Holycross
MD: Chuck Sergent
News Director: Tom Johnson


Airstaff: Brian Douglas
Airstaff: Jeff Young
Airstaff: Dakota LeAnn Summers
Airstaff: Chris "Conman" Conn
Airstaff: Melody Morgan

Station History

103.1fm signed on June 1, 1982.


Studios located at 820 Railroad Street, Covington, IN 47392 (Telephone: 317.793.4823).


Soft AC format. Studios located at 820 Railroad Street, Covington, IN 47932-1357 (Telephone: 765.793.4823). The FCC approved the call letter change from WCDV to WKZS on June 22, 1998.


WKZS flipped format to Country on June 4, 2001 after repeatedly playing Alan Jackson's "Gone Country". Formerly a Jones Satellite Network ("CD Country") affiliate.

Back to the Stations Index
All pages Copyright Blaine Thompson. Articles, photos, corrections, and other contributions should be e-mailed to the editors.