Note: This webpage is not affiliated with the radio station itself. For more information on how to contact the radio station, read below. If you have questions, e-mail us.

This Page Last Updated: Monday 28 May 2018

The Essentials

Call Letters: WAKE
Frequency: 1500am
City of License: Valparaiso
Metro(s): Northwest Indiana
Power: 1000 watts - Daytime (DA-2), 25 Watts - Nighttime (Class D)
Format: Standards
Address: 2755 Sager Road, Valparaiso, IN 46383-0721
Phone: 219.462.6111
Ownership: Adams Radio Group, Inc.
Web Presence:

Station Personnel


GM: OJ Jackson
Chief Engineer: Carl Fletcher
GSM: Jennifer Finnerty
OM: Scott Rosenberg
PD: Scotty Smith (2012 - Current)
News Director: Laura Waluszko
Mornings: Jack Swanda
Middays: Cathy Taylor
Middays: Teresa Brown
Afternoons: Scott LeTourneau
Nights: Mary Marlowe
Overnights: Billy Shears



President/GM: Leonard J. Ellis
PD: Bernice Ellis


President/GM: Leonard J. Ellis
President: Leigh Ellis
Chief Engineer: William Newbrough
PD: Phil King
PD: Scott Wagner (March 2001 - ?) (Now PD/afternoons at WPKR in Oshkosh/Appleton, Wisconsin)
News Director: Jack Highberger
Mornings: Deana and John (7am - 9am)
Late Mornings: Peter Marshall (9am - 11am)
Middays: Jim Raposa (11am - 2pm)
Afternoons: Ben Starr (2pm - 5pm)
Late Afternoons: Deana Martin (5pm - 8pm)
Pete Probst (Now APD/MD at WETL)

Station History

1500am signed in November 4, 1964 (Election Day).



WAKE(AM) changed formats from standards to CNN News in September 2008. Later returned to a standards format. In March 2014, Porter County Broadcasting Holding Corporation, LLC sold WAKE(AM), WLJE-FM, WXRD-FM and WZVN-FM for $8.5 million to Adams Radio Group, Inc..

Back to the Stations Index
All pages Copyright Blaine Thompson. Articles, photos, corrections, and other contributions should be e-mailed to the editors.