Note: This webpage is not affiliated with the radio station itself. For more information on how to contact the radio station, read below. If you have questions, e-mail us.

This Page Last Updated: Monday 28 May 2018

The Essentials

Call Letters: WNDE
Frequency: 1260am
City of License: Indianapolis
Metro(s): Indianapolis
Power: 5000 watts - Day, 5000 watts - Night (DA-Night) (Class B)
Format: Sports Talk
Address: 6161 Fall Creek Road, Indianapolis, IN 46220-5097
Phone: 317.257.7565
Ownership: iHeartMedia, Inc.
Web Presence:
Notes: Also heard via translator W248AW

Station Personnel


GM: Brad Polston (December 2016 - Current)
Chief Engineer: Daniel J. Mettler
GSM: Lee Anne Brooks
SM: Tom Doran
LSM: John McCurdy
OM: Rob Cressman (December 16, 2013 - Current) (From OM at WAQY and WLZX in Springfield, Massachusetts)
Sports Director: Mark Patrick
Production Director: Tim Denniston (September 2000 - Current) (From Assistant Production Director)
Promotions Director: Dan Anderson
Mornings: Flagrant Foul (6:00am - 9:00am)
Late Mornings: Dan Patrick (9:00am - 12:00pm)
Early Afternoons: Rush Limbaugh (12:00pm - 3:00pm)
Afternoons: Jake Query (3:00pm - 7:00pm)
Afternoons: Derek Schultz (3:00pm - 7:00pm)
Nights: Clay Travis ("Outkick the Coverage with Clay Travis") (7:00pm - 10:00pm)
Nights: J.T. The Brick (10:00pm - 11:00pm)
Late Nights: Jason Smith (11:00pm - 2:00am)
Overnights: Ben Maller (2:00am - 6:00am)



GM: Harry M. Bitner, Jr.
Chief Engineer: Harold S. Holland
Chief Engineer: Martin R. Williams
Commercial Manager: William F. Kiley
PD: Jack Sorbi
PD: Frank O. Sharp
News Director: Gilbert Forbes
Promotions Director: David F. Milligan
Airstaff: Jay Arlan
Airstaff: Chuck Breece
Airstaff: George L. Davis (1964-1970)
Airstaff: Bob Hardwick
Airstaff: Ann Wagner (Deceased 13 October 2016)
Lou Sherman (Deceased 29 January 1998)


GM: Milt McConnell (January 1996 - January 1999) (From GSM, and LSM before that) (Now Market Manager for Alpha Broadcasting's Portland, Oregon radio stations.)
GM: Christopher J. Wheat (? - November 2006) (Now GM at the Saga Communications' stations in Asheville, North Carolina)
GM: Rick Green (October 2006 - February 2016) (Now iHeart's mid-Atlantic area president, based in Richmond, Virginia.)
NSM: Debbie Seat
GSM: Michelle Kiefer (1993 - September 2007)
OM: Marty Bender (Was PD: ? - January 2000) (Now PD at WOFX in Cincinnati, Ohio)
OM: Buzz Casey (January 2008 - August 2013) (From PD at KDKB in Phoenix, Arizona)
PD: Jim Davis (1970s)
PD: John Roberts (1984 - 1985) (Now PD at WLWK in Milwaukee, Wisconsin)
PD: Michael Hughes
PD: Rob Lower (? - June 2000)
PD: Pam Ferrin
PD: Drew Carey (May 2000 - December 2005)
PD: Chris Geisen (2006 - ?)
PD: Lenny Diana (January 2009 - ?) (Now PD at WAQY and WLZX in Springfield, Massachusetts)
APD: Steve Cannon
Production Director: Steve Wilmes (? - May 2000) (Now has his own production company)
Promotions Director: Helen Zimmerman
Promotions Director: Josh Gonia
Promotions Director: Jon Wainscott
Sports Director: Tim Bragg
Mornings: Steve Michaels
Mornings: Mike & Mike in the Morning (6:00am - 10:00am, EST; 5:00am - 9:00am, EDT) (Local host is Rob Blackman) (? - July 2002)
Mornings: Dominic Zaccagnini ("Zakk") (6:00am - 9:00am) (Now PD at KSAN-FM in San Diego, California)
Mornings: Jack Trudeau (6:00am - 9:00am)
Mid-Mornings: Tony Bruno (10:00am - 12:00pm, EST; 9:00am - 12:00pm, EDT) (? - July 2002)
Mid-Mornings: Tony Kornheiser (10:00am - 12:00pm, EST; 9:00am - 12:00pm, EDT) (? - December 31, 2001)
Middays: Kevin Murphy
Midafternoons: Jim Rome (12:00pm - 3:00pm)
Afternoons: Brother Barry Chase
Afternoons: Chuck McGee (Now "Chick McGee" as part of the Bob and Tom morning show on WFBQ and syndicated)
Afternoons: Mark Patrick (3:00pm - 7:00pm) (? - July 2002; ? - ?)
Nights: Bob Tracy
Nights: Mark Zintel
Nights: ESPN Game Night (6:00pm - 12:00am) (? - July 8, 2002)
Nights: Matt ("The Drive") (Wednesday 7:00pm - 9:00pm)
Nights: Jason ("The Drive") (Wednesday 7:00pm - 9:00pm)
Nights: Petros Papadakis ("Petros") and Matt Smith ("Money") (7:00pm - 10:00pm)
Nights: Matt Smith ("Money") (7:00pm - 10:00pm)
Late Nights: Greg Scheafer
Late Nights: Tony Bruno (10:00pm - 1:00am)
Overnights: Mike O'Brien
Airstaff: Bob Cummings
Airstaff: Greg Schaeffer

Station History

The Merchants Heating & Light Co. originally owned WNDE and signed it on October 23, 1924.


In the 1930's, WFBM was sharing time with WSBT. Owned by WFBM, Inc. Studios located at 48 Monument Circle, Indianapolis, IN 46204. CBS radio network affiliate. Time Life Broadcasting sold WFBM(AM) and WFBM-FM in 1973. WFBM(AM) flipped formats in September 1973 and the calls changed to WNDE.


In 1985, Gulf Broadcasting Co. sold both WNDE and WFBQ-FM as part of a 5 TV station, 2 AM, 5 FM-deal for $755 million to Taft Television and Radio Co. In 1991, Great American Broadcasting sold both WFBQ-FM and WNDE, along with a Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania FM station to Broadcast Alchemy L.P. Secret Communications sold WNDE in October 1996 to SFX Broadcasting, Inc. as part of a 9 station deal, for $300 million. Other stations in Indianapolis were WFBQ-FM and WRZX-FM.

For Further Reading...

"For the Record" Broadcasting and Cable. 108, no. 15 (1985): Page 174.
"Taft Buys Gulf's Radio/TV Outlets For $755 Million." Radio & Records no. 570 (8 February 1985): Pages 1, 6.
"Broadcast Alchemy buys 3 radio stations." Chicago Tribune. 11 December 1991. Page 2.

Back to the Stations Index
All pages Copyright Blaine Thompson. Articles, photos, corrections, and other contributions should be e-mailed to the editors.