Note: This webpage is not affiliated with the radio station itself. For more information on how to contact the radio station, read below. If you have questions, e-mail us.

This Page Last Updated: Sunday 29 July 2018

The Essentials

Call Letters: WBZQ
Frequency: 1300am
City of License: Huntington
Metro(s): Fort Wayne
Power: 500 watts - Day, 19 watts - Night (3 Tower DA) (Class D)
Format: Spanish
Ownership: Fifty Seven Media LLC
Web Presence:

Station Personnel




President/GM: Edwin R. Huse
GM: Ron Clark
Chief Engineer: Howard Waterhouse
Chief Engineer: Jeff Goode
VP/OM: Helen Huse
PD: Chris Larko (Deceased 19 February 2010)
News Director: Russ Phillips
Airstaff: Jim Brennan


President/GM: Robert Sherman
Chief Engineer: Jeff Goode
VP/OM: Helen Huse
PD: Rick Martin
MD: Holly Sands
News Director: Greg McClain


Owner: Sue H. Williams
GM/SM/PD: William Dinkins
Airstaff: Stacy Thorne


Owner: Chris Larko (Deceased 19 February 2010)
GM: Susan R. Derr
News Director: Mike Nelson
Mornings: Ron Gregory (January 2005 - February 2010) (From mornings at WSHI)

Station History

1300am signed on May 25, 1957.


Owned by Huse Radio, Inc. Studios formerly located at 1600 E. Taylor St., Huntington, IN 46750-4045.


Owned by Group G Broadcasting, Inc. of Indiana Country and Western format. Studios formerly located at 1600 E. Taylor St., Huntington, IN 46750-4045.


Studios located at 1600 E. Taylor, Huntington, IN 46750-4045 (Telephone: 219.358.0718). Variety format. Williams Radio, Inc. sold WPDJ to Larko Communications, Inc. in April 1999. The FCC approved the sale on 6 September 2000.


WBZQ changed formats from Soft AC to Oldies in June 2006. Chicago Cubs affiliate. After Chris Larko's 2010 death, Larko Communications, Inc. sold WBZQ to Fifty Seven Media LLC for $75,000 in 2012.

For Further Reading...

Kilbane, Kevin. "DJ Creates Outlet for Big Band Music on Huntington Airwaves". Fort Wayne News-Sentinel January 8, 1992. Page 1F.

Back to the Stations Index
All pages Copyright Blaine Thompson. Articles, photos, corrections, and other contributions should be e-mailed to the editors.