Note: This webpage is not affiliated with the radio station itself. For more information on how to contact the radio station, read below. If you have questions, e-mail us.

This Page Last Updated: Monday 28 May 2018

The Essentials

Call Letters: WLPR
Frequency: 89.1fm
City of License: Lowell
Metro(s): Northwest Indiana
Power: 2400 watts @ 253 feet (Class A)
Format: NPR/Variety
Address: 8625 Indiana Place, Merrillville, IN 46410-6369
Phone: 219.769.9577
Ownership: Northwest Indiana Public Broadcasting
Web Presence:

Station Personnel


APD: Tavis Buchan (November 2009 - Current)
Production Director: Tom Maloney
Mornings: Sharon Jackson ("Lakeshore This Morning") (5am - 10am)
Mornings: Chris Nolte ("Lakeshore This Morning") (5am - 10am)
Mornings: Steve Walsh ("Lakeshore This Morning") (5am - 10am)
Mornings: Diane Rehm ("The Diane Rehm Show") (10am - 12pm)
Middays: Your Mind on Money (Monday 12pm - 1pm)
Middays: Wait Wait, Don't Tell Me (Tuesday 12pm - 1pm)
Middays: Steve Walsh (Wednesday 12pm - 1pm)
Middays: Specials (Thursday 12pm - 1pm)
Middays: Jerry Davich ("Casually Fridays with Jerry Davich") (Friday 12pm - 1pm)
Afternoons: Talk of the Nation (1pm - 3pm)
Afternoons: All Things Considered (3pm - 4pm)
Afternoons: Tavis Buchan ("Lakeshore Drive") (4pm - 5:30pm)
Afternoons: Marketplace (5:30pm - 6pm)
Weekends: Says You! (Saturday 12pm - 1pm)
Weekends: Says You! (Sunday 5pm - 6pm)




VP/Radio Operations: Dan Bindert (Now station manager at WDCB-FM in Glen Ellyn, Illinois)
PD: Len Clark (January 2009 - April 2010)
Middays: Dan Bindert ("Regionally Speaking with Dan Bindert") (11am - 12pm) (Now station manager at WDCB-FM in Glen Ellyn, Illinois)
Middays: Tell Me More (11am - 12pm)

Station History

89.1fm signed on in 2006.


American Family Association sold WWLO to Northwest Indiana Public Broadcasting for $1.05 million in September 2008. WWLO became WLPR in 2009.


89.1fm flipped formats, selecting some NPR programming and using a Talk format on January 22, 2009.

Back to the Stations Index
All pages Copyright Blaine Thompson. Articles, photos, corrections, and other contributions should be e-mailed to the editors.