Note: This webpage is not affiliated with the radio station itself. For more information on how to contact the radio station, read below. If you have questions, e-mail us.

This Page Last Updated: Sunday 23 July 2017

The Essentials

Call Letters: WZPL
Frequency: 99.5fm
City of License: Greenfield
Metro(s): Indianapolis
Power: 12,500 watts @ 991 feet (AUX: 47,000 watts @ 479 feet) (Class B)
Format: Hot AC
Address: 9245 N. Meridian St., Suite 300, Indianapolis, IN 46260-1835
Phone: 317.816.4000
Ownership: Entercom Communications Corp.
Web Presence:

Station Personnel


VP/Market Manager: Jenny Skjodt
Director of Engineering: Alex Keddie (Also Corporate Regional Engineer at Entercom Communications Corp.)
Chief Engineer: Mike Rabey
Director of Sales: Ben Hoffman
NSM: Tahlia Dunn
OM/PD: JR Ammons (November 15, 2010 - Current) (From PD at WSTR in Atlanta, Georgia)
APD: Hunter (Also Imaging Director/Nights)
MD: Taylor Scott (September 2016 - Current) (Also nights on sister WNTR)
Production Director: Greg Browning (June 1, 2002 - Current)
Imaging Director: Hunter (Also APD/Nights)
Director of Marketing and Promotions: Sheri Acquisto
Promotions Director: Jeff Kuhn
Mornings: Dave Smiley (May 13, 2002 - Current) (5am - 10am) (From mornings at KZON in Phoenix, Arizona)
Mornings: Toni Williams (Co-Host) (5am - 10am)
Mornings: Nikki Reed (Co-Host) (5am - 10am)
Mornings: Will (Producer) (5am - 10am)
Mornings: Chris Vansickle (Assistant Producer) (5am - 10am)
Middays: Jenn Wilson (10am - 3pm)
Afternoons: Chase Daniels (3pm - 7pm)
Nights: Nathan Graham (7pm - 12am)
Weekends: "American Top 40 with Ryan Seacrest" (Sunday 8pm - 12am)



GM: Katie Fordice
GM: Roy Whitton
Chief Engineer: Curt Steele
Chief Engineer: Ernest Wells
PD: Larry Lannan (Retired)
PD: Louise Wilson
News Director: Tom Ewing
News Director: Bill Shoemaker
Promotions Director: Robert McDavitt
Nights: Larry Lannan ("Night Action") (Retired)



GM: William S. Powell
Chief Engineer: Curt Steele
PD: James Owen
PD: Michael Hedges
MD: Fred Moore
News Director: Bob White


VP/Market Manager: Tim Medland (1990 - 2004)
VP/Market Manager: Phil Hoover (From Market Manager at Entercom's New Orleans, Louisiana stations) (Retired)
GM: Roger Ingram (Now Station Manager at KHAT(AM), KIMX-FM, KRQU-FM, and KUSZ-FM in Laramie, Wyoming)
Chief Engineer: Don Payne (Deceased 12 December 2010)
Director of Sales: Steve Hartley (Formerly GSM) (Now of radio)
NSM: Emily Nunley-Gillespie (Now an Account Executive for WZPL)
GSM: Scott Rogers (November 2004 - ?)
OM: Kim Hurst
OM/PD: Scott Sands (OM: February 2004 - ?; PD: October 1999 - ?) (From PD at KFMB in San Diego, California) (Now PD of WSPD(AM) and WIOT-FM in Toledo, Ohio)
PD: Don London (1989 - 1993) (Now OM at WNVZ, WPTE, WVKL and WWDE in Norfolk, Virginia)
PD: Gary Hoffman (March 1982 - 1984; 1985 - August 1999) (From PD at KKDA-FM in Dallas, Texas) (Deceased 14 June 2015)
PD: Tom Gjerdrum (? - October 1999) (Now OM for Backyard Broadcasting's Sioux Falls, South Dakota cluster, as well as mornings on KELO-FM as "Tom Mitchell")
PD/MD: Scott Wheeler (Now weekends at WYXB)
APD/MD: Garett Michaels (October 1990 - June 1993) (Now PD at KNDD in Seattle, Washington)
APD: Paul Kenny ("John Trout")
APD: Kari Johll (July 2002 - ?; Assistant Director for Programming & Promotions: September 1, 2001 - July 2002; Programming & Promotions Coordinator: August 2000 - August 31, 2001) (Now afternoons as "KJ" at WNTR)
MD: Dave Decker (Now weekends on the Air-1 radio network.)
News Director: Ann Craig (1988 - 1991)
News Director: Julie Patterson
Director of Imaging: A.J. (August 2003 - August 2005) (From Director of Imaging at Entercom stations in Indianapolis.) (Now Imaging Director at KDWB in Minneapolis, Minnesota)
Production Director: Tim Cramer (1995 - June 2002) (Now out of radio)
Production Director: Johnny George (1986 - June 4, 1993)
Promotions Director: Kay Feeney-Caito (? - July 1993)
Promotions Director: Jeff Graves (? - July 1999) (Now with the Indianapolis 500 Motor Speedway, as Director of Special Events)
Promotions Director: Tami Muhn-Wellbaum (Now out of radio)
Promotions Director: Toni Williams
Assistant Promotions Director: Melissa Abriani
Remote Coordinator/Promotions Assistant: Shane Williams (? - October 2000) (Now doing sales)
Mornings: Ann Craig (1988 - 1991)
Mornings: Jonathan Doll (Now weekends at KLUV-FM in Dallas, Texas)
Mornings: Carlos Diaz
Mornings: Steve King and Julie Patterson (5am - 9am) (? - February 13, 2002) (Now out of radio)
Mornings: Mark Vanness (Now out of radio)
Mornings: Melissa Bricker (August 2002 - ?) (Now out of radio)
Mornings: Brian Moore (Producer) (5am - 10am)
Middays: Crystal McKenzie (1990 - 1995)
Middays: Ryan Seacrest ("On-Air with Ryan Seacrest") (10am - 2pm)
Middays: Deacon (10am - 3pm) (? - 2014)
Early Afternoons: Dave Decker (1pm - 4pm) (Now weekends on the Air-1 radio network.)
Afternoons: "Hunter" (4pm - 7pm)
Afternoons: Paul Kenny ("John Trout")
Afternoons: Kelly McKay (3pm - 7pm)
Afternoons: Jason Hammer (3pm - 7pm) (Producer)
Nights: "South Side" Jim Parker
Nights: Rob Blair (Now with KCBA-TV in Monterey, California)
Nights: Jason Addams (? - September 1998) (Now program coordinator for the NASH country music brand, based in Nashville, Tennessee.)
Nights: Ted Striker (7pm - 12am) (November 1998 - June 2000) (From morning show producer at KBKS in Seattle, Washington) (Now weeeknds at KBKS in Seattle, Washington)
Nights: Jason Burns ("Buzz Craven") (7pm - 12am) (October 2, 2000 - October 3, 2001)
Nights: Greg Browning (7pm - 10pm) (? - December 2002)
Nights: Kim Iverson ("Your Time with Kim Iverson") (10pm - 12am)
Nights: Hunter (7pm - 10pm)
Overnights: Dan Andrews (12am - 5am) (? - August 15, 2000) (Now MD/nights at WLRW in Champaign, Illinois)
Overnights: John Mills (12am - 5am) (September 2000 - ?) (From weekends at WHHH) (Now at Metro Traffic Networks in Indianapolis)
Weekends: Scott Baker
Weekends: Marci Beeks
Weekends: Tom Berg (Deceased 11 September 2016)
Weekends: Mike Cruise
Weekends: Casey Daniels
Weekends: Jason Hammer
Weekends: Craig Hixon
Weekends: Matt Luecking (August 1, 2005 - ?) (Deceased 24 October 2016)
Weekends: Chaszney Lynn
Weekends: Jules McGivern
Weekends: Taylor Scott
Weekends: Scott Styles
Weekends: "BackTraxx USA 90's with Kid Kelly" (Sunday 8am - 10am)
Weekends: "Fox All Access with Chris Leary" (Sunday 10pm - 12am)
Scott Brodie
R.J. Miles

Station History

99.5fm signed on June 1, 1962.


Owned by Heftel Broadcasting Corp. with studios located at 1634 W. Main St., Greenfield, IN 46140 and also (later? earlier?) at 640 W. 9th Street, Greenfield, IN 46140 (Telephone: 317.462.5511). WSMJ was unique among FM stations in that it used a seperate horizontal and vertical transmission system, each fed by an RCA 10kw transmitter. In the late 1970's, the transmitter site was moved to the old WISH-TV (Channel 8) tower on the east side of Indianapolis.



Owned by Heftel Broadcasting Corp. with studios at 1634 W. Main St. Greenfield, IN 46140 (Telephone: 317.924.9457). Dance format. As WIKS, they were "Kiss 99."


Booth American Co. bought WZPL in 1986, and had studios for WZPL at 3500 DePauw Blvd., Suite 1060, Indianapolis, IN 46268-1174 (Telephone: 317.899.9999) MyStar Communications Corp. sold WZPL, along with all its other stations in April 2004 for $73.5 million.

For Further Reading...

Kukolla, Steve. "Unplugged Hoopla." Indianapolis Business Journal July 12 - July 18, 1993. Page 11A.
Kukolla, Steve. "WKLR lands ex-ZPL production chief." Indianapolis Business Journal July 26 - August 1, 1993. Page 10A.
Allan, Marc D. "Pair leave WZPL for rival WENS." The Indianapolis Star. 14 February 2002. Page A2.

Back to the Stations Index
All pages Copyright Blaine Thompson. Articles, photos, corrections, and other contributions should be e-mailed to the editors.