Note: This webpage is not affiliated with the radio station itself. For more information on how to contact the radio station, read below. If you have questions, e-mail us.

This Page Last Updated: Monday 28 May 2018

The Essentials

Call Letters: WWWY
Frequency: 106.1fm
City of License: North Vernon
Metro(s): Columbus
Power: 50,000 watts @ 486 feet (Class B)
Format: Classic Hits
Address: P.O. Box 1789, Columbus, IN 47202-1789
Address: 3212 Washington Street, Columbus, IN 47203-1505
Phone: 812.372.4448
Ownership: White River Broadcasting Co., Inc.
Web Presence:

Station Personnel


GM: Bob Morrison
Chief Engineer: Chuck Weber
SM: Bob Morrison (2014 - Current)
PD: Rich Anthony
News Director: John Clark
Production Director: Michael Sullivan (2014 - Current)
Sports Director: Sam Simmermaker
Mornings: Todd Berryman (5am - 10am)
Middays: Mike Sullivan (10am - 3pm) (October 2001 - Current)
Afternoons: Rich Anthony (3pm - 8pm)
Nights: Lisa Starr (8pm - 12am)
Weekends: "The Amazing 80's" (Saturday 10pm - 12am)
Weekends: Darren Tandy
Weekends: Tim Wayne (Sunday 6am - 10am)



Owner: Dorrell Ochs (Deceased 12 September 1992)
GM: Charles Plummer
Chief Engineer: Jimmie Ochs
PD: Bill O'Hara
News Director: Bill West



Station Manager/GSM: Sue King
Chief Engineer: Peter Boyce
PD: Joe Ammerman
News Director: Brad Sheldon
Airstaff: Ed Weigle


GM/SM: Scott Goodwin (? - 1999)
GM: Jim Skatzer ("Jim Clouse") (October 2000 - ?)
GM: Tasha Mann
GM/Director of Programming: John Foster (GM: 2014 - ?; Director of Programming: 1994 - ?)
SM: Thomas Cull
OM: Wally Wawro (1975 - ?)
OM/PD: Scott Dugan
PD: Gil Nalley (August 2000 - ?) (from WKKG)
PD: Dennis Rediker
PD: Devin Marsh (March 2000 - July 2000) (Deceased 11 February 2007)
PD: Scott Michaels (January 2004 - ?)
PD: Tonya Haze
APD: Keith Maddox (January 2004 - ?)
News Director: Mark Webber
News Director: Barry Wright (May 2012 - January 2014) (From news reporter at the Bristol Broadcasting radio stations in Paducah, Kentucky) (Now a news reporter for the River Radio of Southern Illinois radio stations in Carterville, Illinois)
Mornings: Madman (? - July 2001)
Mornings: Tom Gross (July 1999 - ?)
Mornings: Rick Reed (? - March 2000; October 2000 - ?) (Between March and October 2000, he did afternoons at WJCP.)
Mornings: Devin Marsh (April 2000 - July 2000) (Deceased 11 February 2007)
Mornings: Jay Foyst (July 2001 - October 2001) (From afternoons at WJCP)
Mornings: Rachel Foyst (July 2001 - October 2001)
Mornings: Jimmy Foxx (5am - 10am) (January 2004 - ?) (From overnights at KFRG in San Francisco, California)
Mornings: Tonya Haze (5am - 10am)
Mornings: Buzz McKay
Middays: Rebecca Richards (January 2002 - ?)
Afternoons: Oz
Afternoons: Jeff Hollan (July 2001 - October 2001) (From afternoons and sales at WIKI)
Nights: Chris Miller (January 2002 - ?)
Nights: Rich Anthony (8pm - 12am) (January 2002 - ?)
Nights: Scotty (8pm - 12am)
weekends: "Classic Hit List" (Sunday 6pm - 10pm)

Station History

106.1fm signed on October 15, 1962.


Call letters stood for founder Dorrell Ochs. Licensed to North Vernon. Beautiful music format. Mr. Ochs also owned WOCH(AM).



Aired a CHR format. In 1997, ARS Broadcasting Corp. sold their trio of radio stations (WRBI, WKRP and WINN-FM for $1.9 million to Findlay Publishing Co.


WWWY moved dial positions from 104.9fm to 106.1fm in late 2001. WWWY flipped formats from Rock to Classic Hits on Friday June 29, 2012. They acquired the former "104.9 The River" format from WINN-FM.

For Further Reading...

"Changing Hands." Broadcasting and Cable. 128, no. 18 (1997): 32.

Back to the Stations Index
All pages Copyright Blaine Thompson. Articles, photos, corrections, and other contributions should be e-mailed to the editors.