Note: This webpage is not affiliated with the radio station itself. For more information on how to contact the radio station, read below. If you have questions, e-mail us.

This Page Last Updated: Monday 28 May 2018

The Essentials

Call Letters: WJJK
Frequency: 104.5fm
City of License: Indianapolis
Metro(s): Indianapolis
Power: 50,000 watts @ 492 feet (AUX: 14,000 watts @ 512 feet) (Class B)
Format: Classic Hits
Address: 6810 N. Shadeland Ave., Indianapolis, IN 46220-4287
Phone: 317.842.9550
Ownership: Cumulus Media, Inc.
Web Presence:

Station Personnel


GM: Tom Stemlar (October 2015 - Current)
VP/Sales: Melissa Stoner
Chief Engineer: Jeanette Rhodes
SM: Sherry Anno
OM: Stephen Giuttari (February 2016 - Current)
Imaging Director: Greg Browning
Promotions Director: Dan Anderson
Mornings: Greg Browning (5am - 10am) (From Middays)
Mornings: Joni Michels (5am - 10am)
Middays: Steve Stuart (10am - 3pm) (From Nights)
Afternoons: Nikki (3pm - 7pm) (From Nights, then middays)
Nights: Laura Steele (7pm - 12am)
Weekends: Bob Simpson
Weekends: Mandy McCoy



GM: Tom Carnegie (Deceased 11 February 2011)
GM: Dr. Wilfred Tremblay (August 1987 - August 1989) (Now Dean of the Nido R. Qubein School of Communication at High Point University in High Point, North Carolina)
GM: Mark Dunham (January 1990 - 1993) (Now out of radio)
GM: James R. (Jim) Phillippe (Deceased December 2003)
Greg Lucas (Now a TV announcer for Houston Astros baseball and reporter for FOX Sports Houston)
Scott Hoke



Market Manager: Charlie Morgan (June 2000 - ?; VP: April 1998 - June 2000; GM: ? - June 2000)
VP/Market Manager: Monte Maupin Gerard (March 1998 - May 2000) (Formerly VP/GM at WFMS) (Now out of radio)
VP/GM: Jennifer Skjodt (From VP/Marketing Manager) (August 2000 - ?) (Now GM at WNTR, WXNT and WZPL)
Chief Engineer: Jeff Goode
Director of Sales: Todd Schumacher (September 2003 - ?) (From GSM at WGLD)
GSM: Eric Wunnenberg (November 2002 - ?) (From LSM at WSB in Atlanta, Georgia)
SM: Tim Burns (Now in sales for sister WFMS)
OM: David Wood (? - May 30, 2008) (From PD)
PD: Steve Cannon (? - February 15, 2013)
MD: Steve Rich
APD: Don Riley (Now local Morning Edition host at WFYI)
Production Coordinator: Johnny George
Production Director: Bob Simpson (From WIBC) (Retired)
News Director: Michael W. Orr (Now an assignment editor at WTHR-TV)
News Director: Larry Leggett (? - March 1999)
News Director: Kevin Freeman (? - April 2002) (Now mornings at sister WFMS)
Mornings: Bruce Elscott (5am - 9am) (? - December 2, 2008) (Now out of radio)
Mornings: Eileen Wooster (5am - 9am) (? - November 2004)
Middays: Steve Rich (9am - 1pm)
Afternoons: Scott "Records" Roddy (2pm - 6pm) (Now PD at KAFE in Bellingham, Washington)
Afternoons: Lisa Ann Bye (1993 - May 1999)
Afternoons: Steve Cannon (3pm - 7pm) (? - February 15, 2013)
Nights: Fritz Moser (June 1999 - February 2002) (7pm - 12am) (From PD at WINN)
Nights: Don Hibschweiler ("Don Riley") (6pm - 9pm) (February 2002 - ?; Weekends: September 2000 - February 2002) (Previously OM/PD at WASK and WKOA) (Now local Morning Edition host at WFYI)
Late Nights: Jeff Angel (9pm - 12am)
Overnights: Voicetracked (12am - 5am) (February 2000 - ?)
Weekends: Shane Goad (Also, or perhaps formerly at WMDH)
Weekends: Kaylee Katrell
Weekends: Anne Richards
Weekends: Dan Cook


VP/GM: Jennifer Skjodt (From VP/Marketing Manager) (August 2000 - ?) (Now GM at WNTR, WXNT and WZPL)
Market Manager: Charlie Morgan (June 2000 - September 2007) (From GM at WGLD)
GM: Chris Wheat (September 2007 - May 1, 2012) (From VP/GM at the Entercom stations in Norfolk, Virginia) (Now GM at the Saga Communications' stations in Asheville, North Carolina)
Chief Engineer: Jake Robinson (Now Assistant Chief Engineer at WRTV-TV)
Chief Engineer: Jeff Goode
Assistant Chief Engineer: Nick Lopez (October 2010 - April 2016)
Director of Sales: Todd Schumacher (September 2003 - ?) (From GSM at WGLD)
Director of Sales: LeeAnne Brooks
GSM: Eric Wunnenberg (November 2002 - ?) (From LSM at WSB in Atlanta, Georgia)
Director of Sales: Michele Kiefer (September 2007 - May 2012)
OM: David Wood (From PD)
PD: Jay Michaels (February 15, 2013 - ?) (Also PD at sister WRWM)
Creative Services Director: Johnny George
Imaging Director: Bruce Elscott (Now out of radio)
News Director: Michael W. Orr (Now an assignment editor at WTHR-TV)
Mornings: Bruce Elscott (5:30am - 10am) (Now out of radio)
Afternoons: Steve O'Brien (2pm - 7pm)
Nights: Robb Reel (7:00pm - 12:00am) (From weekends)
Nights: Mark Roberts

Station History

104.5fm signed on September 25, 1950.


WAJC signed on September 25, 1950 from the Ayres home at 1204 N. Delaware St. Jazz (and later a classical) formatted station. Originally at 91.9fm, WAJC moved to 104.5fm in 1956. WAJC was originally owned by the Butler University's Arthur Jordan Conservatory of Music. Studios located at 2835 N. Illinois Street, Indianapolis, IN 46208-4705. Butler University sold WAJC in 1993 for more than $7 million to Susquehanna Radio Corp.



The station flipped first to a simulcast of WFMS and then its own distinct programming (still country). April 1997 brought the sale of the station. Weiss Communications, Inc. sold WGLD to Susquehanna Radio Corp. WGLD moved to its current facility in November 1998. WGLD changed formats to the Hot AC/Classic Hits "Jack-FM" hybrid mix at 6pm on Sunday March 13, 2005. Soon after, the call letters changed to WJJK.


Susquehanna Radio Corp. sold all of its Indianapolis stations to Cumulus Media, Inc. That $1.2 billion sale (which included 33 stations across the United States) closed on 9 May 2006.

For Further Reading...

Borzillo, Carrie. "Networks and Syndication." Billboard. 17 July 1993. pg. 108. (WAJC)
Perrone, Ellen. "Susquehanna Buys WGLD." Indianapolis Business Journal. April 14, 1997. Page 13. (WGLD)
Gilbert, Calvin. "WGLD Fills the Oldies Void." Radio & Records. December 12, 1997. Page 31. (WGLD)
Barlow, Saideh. "Maupin-Gerard out of WFMS' top job." Indianapolis Business Journal. May 8, 2000. Page 4, 10. (WGLD)

Back to the Stations Index
All pages Copyright Blaine Thompson. Articles, photos, corrections, and other contributions should be e-mailed to the editors.